Gluten Free Brownies

IMG_6036.jpg

Feed. Your. Eyes.

This has been my go-to brownie recipe since last year. It also never occured to me that it’s gluten-free until recently! Sorry vegans :p

Currently in the midst of exam/coursework stress but I’m crazy enough to whip these up while trying to compose some music. Yeah, I’m totally concentrating on work. But hey, we all need a break, yes?

Brownies are always easy to make but these are insanely easy. Literally throwing everything into a saucepan and bam. No need for measuring scales or teaspoons. Yeah, I’m being serious. I’m a lazy baker and this is as simple as simple can get. Unless you go for the boxed stuff but seriously?

IMG_6037

I love how strange this photo looks. The brownie slice looks photoshopped due to the strong bokeh but I promise you it’s not!

But anyway, moving on to a more serious topic – fudgy or cakey brownies?

I really hope you’re thinking fudgy because if you’re a cakey brownie type of person I’m sad to say, we probably won’t get along very well.

These brownies have no flour so the it’s really fudgy from the moistness of the grounds almonds and butter. This time round I decided to be extravagant so the added chocolate chips make it even chocolatier (I think I’m starting to make up chocolate related words now… forgive me)!

IMG_6038

Like come on. Is this not calling out to you already?! Okay fine. My hands were a little shakey so the photo is slightly blur.

I could go on blabbering about my love for chocolate and brownies but I shall spare you.

Ingredients
100g butter 
1/2 cup caster sugar (or 1/3 cup for a richer brownie)
2 tsp instant coffee
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt (omit if you’re using salted butter)
2 large eggs
1/2 cup ground almonds
chocolate chips
handful of toasted hazelnuts

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 160C. Line an 8″ square tin with baking parchment. These brownies stick so don’t miss out this step!
2. In a saucepan melt the butter. Add cocoa, sugar, instant coffee and salt. Mix well until combined. Add eggs one at a time, beating well before adding the next. The batter should look smooth and glossy and should be coming away from the pan.
3. Add the ground almonds and fold in. Then add the chocolate chips! *If you’re like me and forgot to add the chocolate chips after pouring it into the tin just get a spatula and swirl it in 😉
4. Pour into your lined tin and sprinkle with the hazelnuts or whatever you wish. Go crazySpeculoos, nutella, peanut butter, jam, oreos. The options are endless! Bake for 15-20 mins or until a toothpick inserted comes out with moist crumbs

*I always eyeball my brownies as I don’t want them ‘overbaked’ because they won’t be fudgy anymore!

IMG_6039

Irresistible. Really.

 

IMG_6034

Happy Weekend everyone!

One thought on “Gluten Free Brownies

Leave a Reply

