Baked Pancakes with Roasted Bananas

Look who’s back! Yes I’ve pretty much been gone since 2000 (just being dramatic) and I’m finally posting something.

It’s just not very motivating when there’s so little daylight to work with and photos look crappy. Yes, I’m making excuses. But I must defend myself in that the year has been so busy, baking hasn’t been happening all that much. Even if it does I’m just too lazy oops.

IMG_5976

Despite being on some mad orange obsession (it’s been going on for far too long), I’ve been thinking of roasted bananas. It’s strange enough because I’m the sort of person who wouldn’t bother with roasting fruit. Like, it’s quite a waste of gas/electricity isn’t it? But the end result is always so comforting. Oh the struggle.

So obviously I gave in to my craving.

IMG_5977

Initially the plan was roasted bananas AND bacon but silly o’ me forgot on Easter Sunday supermarkets are not open… There went being excited at the idea of marrying sweet and savoury, with a nice hazelnut crunch. Damn.

Anyway I went ahead with it after much pestering from the mother and I guess it didn’t turn out too bad. I substituted toasted coconut flakes and black sesame (very random I know) for the hazelnuts. I must say, a light dusting of icing sugar always makes the food look posh. Can anybody explain why? I swear. Just try it out. It just makes everything look so professional.

IMG_5980

I’m still so unhappy with the photos. Please excuse the bad editing too. I really need to get photoshop on this new laptop of mine. Le sigh~

Putting aside my little rant, I must say laziness does create some wonderful things – baked pancakes. Instead of standing at the stove slowly cooking a few pancakes at a time (or even one at a time if your pan is just way too small!) and worrying they’d start getting cold, pour all the batter into a greased tin and bake it for 20-30 mins. I give a big time range just because it depends on the size of your tin and the type of batter. Just eyeball it and once its starting to get nicely golden brown, test it with a toothpick just as you’d do with a cake.

You end up with a nice thick slice of pancake which makes it feel like you’re having cake for breakfast. Or you could lie to yourself and say its 3 pancakes stacked together. If anyone tells your cake for breakfast is wrong, just walk away. Really.

Recipe for the pancake is here and roasting the bananas is easy peasy!

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Halve your bananas. Coat generously in maple syrup and arrange cut-side down on a baking tray.
  2. Put them in the oven 10 mins into baking your pancakes and very carefully turn once they start getting slightly browned. 

Happy Easter Holidays!

One thought on “Baked Pancakes with Roasted Bananas

Leave a Reply

