Banana Rum Bread

IMG_5885

Yes you read the title correctly. Rum.

Not kidding with you here.

This cake is pretty loaded with the flavour of rum (for me at least). The original recipe calls for dark rum but I only had light rum. Not sure if this may have affected the flavour in the cake.

I’ve been craving banana bread for ages and finally got round to ageing my bananas. Then I realised, “oh crap. I’m going to have 5 over ripe bananas that I’ll need to eat ASAP…” I’m not a huge banana fan so that got me worried. Out of desperation I told my friend my dilemma and what he told me was amazing.

“Just throw them in the freezer”

It never occured to me that bananas were freezable! Yes, I’m really behind time…

Anyway that totally saved the day for me. It’s a big plus as well because frozen bananas make such good desserts! There was one night I melted some chocolate to go on top of my frozen banana. And obviously we can’t miss out the very special ingredient – peanut butter. Yes girls & boys, ladies & gentlemen. Peanut Butter. It makes the world go round. Unless you have a nut allergy, then no, it wouldn’t make your world go round.

IMG_5886

And so I digress.

I read that it’s best to ‘age’ the cake so the flavour of the rum gets stronger. As seen in the photo above, I couldn’t wait and had to have a slice. Chomp!

So. Good.

I was worried my bananas weren’t ripe enough because it’s best to have on-the-edge-of-rotting bananas for banana bread. But it still turned out okay!

The rum is added at the very end and boy was I amused. Pouring in a half cup of rum into cake batter. It was oddly satisfying. Had a little taste and it was strong.

Ingredients
113g butter, softened
150g brown sugar
2 large eggs
3 large ripe bananas, mashed,
125g plain flour
120g whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup dark rum (I used light rum)

1. Preheat oven to 180C and grease a 9″x5″ loaf pan or a a 8″ round cake tin.
2. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition. Beat in the bananas until well combined. 
3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and fold in until just combined. Stir in the rum. 
4. Bake for 55-65 mins or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Allow to cool in tin for 10 mins before removing to cool on a wire rack. 
*for an 8″ round tin I baked my cake for 50 mins only
**If it gets too brown, cover with foil.

IMG_5888

I brought this cake to share with some friends in orchestra and it was a big hit! Made me really happy 🙂 It also helped me make new friends, as weird as that sounds.

IMG_5883

This recipe is definitely a keeper. Can’t wait to make it again, next time with dark rum 😉

Leave a Reply

