No-bake Cheesecake (without cheese :o)

IMG_5877

Whenever I make this, trying to describe it to people always gets me confused faces.

“What do you mean there’s no cheese… then what’s in it…”

Naturally, people would be so hesitant to try it as well. I remember making this for my family and they were so skeptical about it. Then they realised there’s nothing weird about it and the texture is just like regular cheesecake. Yes. If you eat this, you’re eating cheesecake without all the extra calories and without all that heaviness from the richness of cream cheese! I can’t tell you how much this means to me. I’m really not a cheesecake person but everytime I see the amazing flavours people come up with or that creamy texture, I wish I could eat it. I had a bad experience with it once so hence the staying off.

IMG_5878

So I re-used this recipe but added melted dark chocolate to the yogurt mixture. Yes yogurt! I must say yogurt is an amazing ingredient because you can use it in everything – cakes, salad dressings, dips, as a substitute for cream. The list goes on.

I don’t really know why I made this yesterday. I think I was feeling a little sad and knowing my B loves cheesecake, my subconscious just made it happen. My random baking flings always seem to turn out well. I should have them more often :p

Call it lazy but I did not weigh out the chocolate or consult google as to how much I should use. So if you’re wondering how much to use, just melt a good quantity (go on, put those estimation skills to use!) and gradually add it into the yogurt mixture. Taste, taste, taste. If you have any leftover melted chocolate, that’s not a problem at all! Warm up some milk and add it to the chocolate = hot chocolate! Cut up some fruit and dip it in the chocolate = simple chocolate fondue! Or just eat it. Yeahhh go on, treat yourself. Lick the spoon. Use your fingers.

IMG_5880

I was a bit worried it turned out a little thin but when I cut a slice it isn’t actually too bad. I love a good biscuit base anyway!

This ‘cheesecake’ cuts like cheesecake and eats like cheesecake. I hope I can convince you. It really is amazing. When I first made it I thought the gelatine would make it wobble like jello and make it sticky and shiz but it doesn’t do that at all.

Also it’s a lot healthier. Think about it – it’s just eating flavoured yogurt with crushed biscuits!

IMG_5881

I laugh at my lack of decoration/equipment. Sometimes you just have to improvise!

IMG_5879

So, have I convinced you yet?

2 thoughts on “No-bake Cheesecake (without cheese :o)

Leave a Reply

