Rosemary Soda Bread

IMG_5867

Have I mentioned how much I love rosemary? It’s my favourite herb at the moment!

I once ate an entire box of rosemary biscuits in one sitting. Yep. I told myself to stop at 2 but it didn’t happen.

I had a bad experience with soda bread previously. An Irish friend gave us some and it was like eating baking soda. It was horrible.

I don’t know why I decided to bake soda bread this time round but I did some reading up on it and apparently if it’s bitter, there has not been enough acid in the mix to neutralise it. Obviously forgotten a bit of my chemistry lessons oops.

If you’re looking for a recipe that uses self-raising flour as well as plain flour and you don’t have buttermilk or milk to make a substitute, this is the recipe for you!

IMG_5872

It has a close crumb texture, slightly denser than normal sandwich breads. I love cakey bread if you know what I mean. Ciabatta and breads that are very hollow/holey, hm. Not much of a fan.

Ingredients
170g wholemeal self-raising flour
170g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1-2 tsp dried rosemary (I started with 1 tsp and added extra because it didn’t seem like there was enough rosemary)
145ml milk
145ml plain yogurt

*I used skimmed milk and 0% fat yogurt

1. Preheat oven to 200C. Whisk together the milk and yogurt in a bowl/jug. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda, salt and rosemary.
2. Make a small well in the centre of the flour mixture and gradually pour in the milk-yogurt mixture while stirring with a wooden spoon. I recommend switching to using your hands to get the dough together. Some recipes ask to knead the dough slightly but I don’t think it’s necessary as the raising agents would help give fluffiness to the bread. 
3. Shape into a ball and flatten slightly. Use a sharp knife to cut a cross on the top. Bake for 30 mins until golden brown and the bread sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom. I turned my oven down to 180C for the last 10 mins to prevent it browning any further, depending on your oven you may need to do that. Just keep an eye on it!

Even though it’s sort of a savoury bread, I ate it with blueberry jam (my favourite jam) and it was perfect!

I confess, this bread did not last long at all. At. All. I ate it all by myself over 2 days. Or 1.5 days to be exact. I ate half of it once it was cool enough and then the rest of it with soup the next day. Do I scare you? Don’t worry, I’m still a normal human 🙂

IMG_5871

IMG_5874

Random photo of my table when I was having lunch! I’ve treated myself and bought new green tea that has matcha in the mix ❤

Happy Easter Holidays everyone! (If you’re a student that is)

One thought on “Rosemary Soda Bread

  1. Pingback: Chocolate & Rosemary Wholewheat Bread | Foodation.

Leave a Reply

