Red Velvet Cupcakes (the natural way)

IMG_5863

Red Velvet Cupcakes with stabilised Coconut Whipped cream.

A bit of a twist with the stabilised whipped cream. I chose this as my mum does not like frosting and neither do I, so the traditional cream cheese frosting would’ve been a bit much.

I wasn’t really for the idea of getting a bottle of food colouring just to use a few drops to make these cupcakes so I looked for alternative recipes using beetroot!Β Once again, veggies in mah cakes but they always make your cake deliciously moist.Β 

I’ll have you all know that red velvet cakes weren’t actually red to begin with. Due to the chemical reactions with the raising agents in the cake, it turned out slightly red but it was more of a brick-red rather than a bright red that you get today. Then people started using beets to get a darker red and today we use food colouring. Obviously you will not get as bright a red using beets but for me I’d rather go with a natural food colouring!

IMG_5865

I think they turned out a nice red, no?

It was my first time frosting cupcakes too! I don’t have a palette knife so I was a little worried I couldn’t get the control I needed but it worked out fine with a butter knife.

IMG_5866

So, stabilised whipped cream.

I think it’s the best thing ever.

As I said, I’m really not a frosting kind of person. Neither am I a cream person so if I have to, I usually prefer a light whipped cream. Obviously you can just whip up some cream and top it on a cake. However if you’re thinking of keeping the cakes for a day or two, it’s not going to hold up. I’ve done my research and there’s 2 ways you can stabilise whipped cream – corn starch and gelatine. I went down the gelatine route and it’s so, so simple you have to try it if you’re looking for something light to frost cakes. Also, whipped cream is so versatile to play with flavours! Hence, the coconut flavour πŸ˜‰

IMG_5862

Carrying on with the topic of coconut, you can actually use coconut cream to make coconut whipped cream! The only thing is you need an extra day. Why? You need to set a can of full-fat coconut milk upside down in the fridge overnight so that you can get the water and cream to separate.

Coconut Whipped Cream
Heavy cream or Whipping cream
Icing sugar
1-2 tsp coconut extract
1/2 tsp gelatine
1 tbsp boiling water

1. Dissolve gelatine in boiling water and allow to cool slightly. If it cools down too much and hardens, simple reheat.Β 
2. Whip the cream and when it’s beginning to thicken, sift icing sugar to taste. Continue to whisk, pouring in the gelatine gradually. Just before you achieve stiff peaks (making sure not to over-whisk!), add the coconut extract to taste.Β 

I’ve not included the red velvet recipe because I think I could find a better one, however if you’d like it do drop me a message and I’ll be happy to send you the link πŸ™‚

I really really can’t stress how much you should try stabilised whipped cream! It’s so good. The next thing I’ll have to try is coconut whipped cream using coconut cream!

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes (the natural way)

    • Yes! I don’t usually make cupcakes and if I do ice a cake its just one of those icing sugar drizzles (like what I did with the coffee walnut cupcakes). Aw thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

