Coffee & Walnut Cupcakes

IMG_5855

This week has been pretty hectic and I decided to treat myself by baking. Some people find it stressful but I find it therapeutic and relaxing 🙂

You can always find me looking very intensely at my phone or laptop and you’d think I’m busy emailing or reading up on something. I guess you could say that – busy reading up on recipes! Especially when I’ve decided to make something, I actually search up multiple recipes and compare them to see which may be the best. Sometimes I even do recipe mash-ups haha!

This week’s cake is something I’ve never tried making before. I absolutely love coffee walnut cakes if they hit you well with coffee flavour and have walnut in the cake. I’ve had trouble getting flavour into cakes, especially with citrus fruit I can never seem to get enough of the flavour in the cake. I was worried with this cake as well since most recipes call for espresso powder and I didn’t have any. IMG_5859

I was initially going to make an 8″ cake but I figured if I was giving them away, making cupcakes would be so much easier and neater. I got very excited by that thought because that meant making an icing or frosting! Which is also something quite new to me. I couldn’t decide on a buttercream frosting or just an icing sugar glaze but seeing as my cupcakes had such flat tops and it was getting late, I thought the glaze was a better option 😉 Didn’t want to risk messing up frosting with just a jam knife in the flat!

Ingredients (this makes half the original recipe)
112.5g butter, softened
112.5g caster sugar ( I used a mixture of caster and brown sugar because I ran out)
2 eggs, room temperature
2 tsp espresso powder dissolved in 1 tbsp boiling water (I used 3 heaped teaspoons of instant coffee, more could be better)
100g plain flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
25g walnuts, chopped plus extra to decorate
1/2 – 1 tbsp milk
Icing sugar

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 180C. Line cupcake tin or grease an 8″ cake tin, lining the base with baking parchment as well. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating well. Add in 1/2 tbsp of the coffee mixture and mix well.
2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and baking powder. Sift flour mixture over the wet ingredients and fold in until well combined. Add milk slowly until you get a soft, smooth/creamy consistency. Finally, fold in the chopped walnuts. 
3. Scoop into prepared tin and bake for 12-15 mins (cupcakes) or 20-25 mins (8″ cake) or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes up clean or with a few moist crumbs.
4. When the cakes have cool completely, sift icing sugar into a bowl and add water 1/2 tsp at a time until you get a thick and slightly runny consistency. Add the remaining coffee mixture to taste.

*The original recipe used a food processor to blitz everything together, pulsing the walnuts until they were flour-like. I don’t have a food processor so I used the method as above. Also, chop the walnuts up to a size that you’d like 🙂

IMG_5860

In order to have cut the cake in half, I took off the walnut on top teehee.

Funny story: I saved this cut one for myself, intending to eat it after college when I get home. My mum asked me after seeing it in the morning if I was going to eat it. I thought she meant there and then so I said no. When I got home both cakes (I saved 2 for us giving the others away) were gone so I asked if she ate them and then she goes “Yeah. Oh you haven’t eaten one?” :/

I guess that means the cakes were good but sadly I didn’t get to eat any!

IMG_5856

Recipe was taken from this amaaaaazing blog. Please do check her out! She’s got really lovely things she’s made and her photos are gorgeous. Just so gorgeous!

2 thoughts on “Coffee & Walnut Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

