Butternut Squash Gnudi

First of all, I want to say how happy I am that these were a success.

After a day of rehearsing in my head the timings and all that (I was also pan-frying fish), everything went so well!

The thing I find about cooking stressful is the timing. I’m really on about having all the food on the plate hot and nothing lukewarm at all. Hence I’m always like “OKAY DINNER IS READY PLEASE COME AND EAT IT NOW.” whenever I cook for the family. Oops haha!

IMG_5843edited

I don’t really know the definition of ‘gnudi’ but I think it means something like ‘naked pasta’? From reading what some people say, it’s like the filling of ravioli and so a pasta without the ‘skin’. It’s almost like gnocchi but softer and lighter since there isn’t as much starch in it.

I really enjoyed eating this. It’s really comforting and could even make a good snack in my opinion!

Ingredients (serves 3)
2 cups butternut squash mashed and possibly drained of excess moisture
1 1/4 cups parmesan, grated
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/2- 3/4 cups plain flour
2 tbsp butter
10 or more sage leaves

Directions
1. Heat a pot of salted water and bring to a boil. 
2. In a bowl, mix together the squash, parmesan and egg. Add 1/2 cup of flour and mix well. Add another 1/4 cup if needed to form a sticky ‘dough’. I say ‘dough’ because it’s really more like a paste. Test the consistency by dropping a small ball in the boiling water. It should hold it’s shape.
3. Meanwhile, heat butter in a pan until it begins to brown. Add the sage leaves. Remove from heat.
4. Cook the gnudi for about 2 mins or until it floats to the surface. Remove with a slotted spoon and toss in the sage butter. Serve immediately. 

With this I feel confident about trying out gnocchi now. They’re really so good and I love how I got them to be in quinelle(?) shapes!

Leave a Reply

