Fluffy Greek Yogurt Pancakes

IMG_5833

One of the most important days of the year is coming up real soon.

Pancake Day. Or Shrove Tuesday if you’re familiar with that.

PANCAKE DAY!!!

If you’re a busy bee like me, it may not be possible to make pancakes on the day itself. So I make them in advance. As an excuse to have a nice breakfast as well.

I’ve been using this recipe for ages and came across this new one on Tumblr one fine day. I’m always up for using yogurt in baking or substituting ingredients to make the end product healthier. I would say this pancake recipe is pretty healthy and good for you! Or maybe I’m just lying to myself to make myself feel better about eating them hoho…

IMG_5836

Topped my beautiful stack with the remaining Greek yogurt swirled with some blackcurrant jam and a tiny (don’t judge it’s tiny-ness) drizzling of honey. I know this may sound odd, but I don’t fancy honey. It kinda smells weird…

Pancakes are just so versatile and fun. You can put anything in them. They can be breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert. A 4-in-1 whoohay!!! Okay, clearly getting too excited. I mean, they’re so yummy I just. Can’t.

Ingredients
1 cup self-raising flour (I used wholewheat self raising for that extra healthiness!)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp brown sugar
*sprinkling of cinnamon (just because I love cinnamon)
1 large egg
1/2 cup non-fat Greek Yogurt
1/2 cup milk (use skimmed for a healthier option)
1 1/4 tbsp vegetable oil
1/3 – 1/2 cup fresh or frozen berries of your choice
2 tbsp chocolate chips 

Directions
1. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Using a measure jug/cup or another bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients.
2. Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture. Use a wooden spoon to stir until just combined. The mixture will be thick and don’t worry about the lumps. Fold in the berries and chocolate chips, taking care not to bash up the berries (yeah we can get a little too excited about food sometimes).
3. Heat a pan over medium heat and grease it lightly. Use 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake, spreading it out slightly. Cook for 3-4 mins or until golden brown. The batter may not bubble because of the thickness. Flip and cook for another 1-2 mins. 
For those who make pancakes regularly or have just made them enough times to notice, the very first pancake is always ugly. Okay, maybe ugly is too strong a word but it never browns evenly! Compare photo #1 and photo #2. Anybody can tell me why? What’s the science behind this pancake mystery?! Not that I’m very concerned about it but it’s just interesting hmm…

IMG_5837

If that can’t convince you (if you need any convincing at all), then I really don’t know what can. Oh my mama.

I don’t have the best plates or deco for photos but I like to tell myself the food will speak for itself. In this photo I think it’s saying “Eat me, Human.”

IMG_5839

Are you a fluffy all-American pancakes kinda person or a French crepes kinda person? I think it’s wonderful how every country has their own version of what a pancake is.

IMG_5840

Today is actually the first time I’ve eaten 4 pancakes in a stack 😮 In my family we usually put all the pancakes on a plate and then eat them one piece at time. I can finally say that eating them in a stack is 1) so much more efficient 2) prevents any dispute on who has more or fewer pancakes 3) so much more satisfying *dreamy face*

Just seeing my knife sink into that pillowy fluffiness (I could even replay it in my head in slowmotion). Oh my days. Somebody help me. I’m going to end up obsessing over food in my own kitchen one day. Goodbye society. Goodbye social life. Hello food.

And also, I have no shame in smears on my plate. I’m that person who scrapes up every last bit of dessert on her plate. I don’t get why people don’t really. It’s such a waste. Even more so when you’ve paid for it! Hurhur.

IMG_5835

So this Tuesday get creative with your pancakes and if you can, make your own from scratch. It’s really worth it, trust me. ❤

Leave a Reply

