Lime, Yogurt & Olive Oil Cake

IMG_5723

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me!

Yes.

I baked my own birthday cake. #noshame

Initially I was going to make a chocolate cake. But after this whole bad dessert incident at a restaurant which resulted in me feeling really ill from chocolate, no way. Furthermore, I love love love citrus-y cakes! Although I struggle with getting enough of that tangy flavour in the cake 😦

Lemon drizzles are amazing and delicious but LIMES. My, my. There’s something about limes that puts them 5 steps ahead of the game with lemons. I would drink limeade rather than lemonade to be honest. Funnily enough, I used to hate citrus fruit. Especially oranges. I thought they were the worst thing ever. In retrospect, I think I just always had a sour orange…

IMG_5724

Pretty pleased with this second attempt with using olive oil and yogurt in a cake. Although I really am not gonna lie and try to fool you guys but you can see how the base of the cake kinda got a bit squidged up = very moist. I am thinking it’s either the addition of a couple tbsp of plain natural yogurt (I didn’t have enough Greek yogurt) or the fact that my mixing bowl is too tall/narrow that when I add wet ingredients to dry ingredients I end up with an annoyingly lumpy mess. Anyway, not to worry. The first time I made an olive oil & yogurt cake I got this very weird textured cake… no idea what went wrong.

The cake is light, fluffy and moist. It would make a superb tea cake. No correction. It would make a lovely anytime cake. Because let’s face it, we all can have cake at any time of the day. Wait, did you say you can’t? I’m sorry for you then.

Ingredients
1/3 cup olive oil
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup full fat Greek yogurt
zest of 1 lime (I’m pretty sure the more the merrier for a stronger lime flavour)
1/4 cup lime juice
1 3/4 cups plain flour (218.75g)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease a 9″ round tin.
2. In a bowl or a large measuring jug, whisk together the sugar and oil. Add the eggs, followed by the yogurt and finally the lime juice and zest.
3. In a large mixing bowl, sift in the flour, baking powder and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and fold in until just combined. Don’t over mix!
4. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until top is browned and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean or with a few moist crumbs. Allow the cake to cool in the tin for 5 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack. When cake is completely cooled, sprinkle with sugared zest (one part zest : 2 parts sugar)

I took this recipe from this foodblogger and sadly, her cake is so much prettier than mine!

IMG_5725

Same slice from a different angle just because I can.

I was being all ambitious thinking of making candied lime peel but it’s just way too much effort. Plus, the sugared zest looks a lot prettier. The sugar almost looks like snow!

IMG_5726

So it’s coming to the end of my birthday and I’ve learnt one thing, or rather reminded myself of this one thing –

Be satisfied with what you have and be happy with the little gifts life gives to you. 

IMG_5721

Yes I cut all that with my little paring knife.

IMG_5722

(End of the post and I just realised how ridiculously little of the sugared zest I sprinkled on the cake…)

Leave a Reply

