Cinnamon Muffins

IMG_5705

So I finally got myself a 12-hole muffin pan. Yes.

I mean I have one in Singapore but not here in London.

I decided to christen it with this super simple muffin. It was a fine, fine day and I wanted something cinnamony and I was also craving cake. What else would be better than cinnamon muffins? Well… churros actually but I wasn’t going to go through all that hassle of making them!

I don’t know about you but I find the cracking on the tops really inviting.

IMG_5706

Aw yeah. Close up of that craaaaaaacked top.
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour (187.5g) 
2 tsp baking powder     *if you only have self-raising flour, omit the baking powder
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 lightly beaten egg
1/2 cup milk
1 heaped tsp cinnamon
113g butter, melted

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 180C. Mix flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl. 
2. Whisk together egg, sugar, milk and butter in a measure cup or another bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and fold in quickly. I’d say a maximum of 10 folds. Lumps are fine!
3. Spoon into prepared muffin tin and bake for 10-15 mins or until tops are set and edges are crisp.

Remove from tin and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Makes 9 muffins
The muffins taste like cinnamon pancakes and are amazing warm. As I was eating one I almost tasted banana and wondered if anyone has tried making cinnamon banana muffins. I’m sure if I consult google there’d be tons of recipes available.

So if you’re craving cinnamon and haven’t got much time, I suggest you give this recipe a try. It’s super basic but sometimes cravings just need to be satisfied.

IMG_5709

Leave a Reply

