Cake-like Lemon Sugar Cookies

image

So in my previous sugar cookie post I must’ve talked about how I absolutely dislike sugar cookies (unless I’m imagining things!). Like, I can’t understand them as much as I’d like to be able to! That sickly sweetness that is just nothing but… Sweet. I have a massive sweet tooth and I can’t handle it :/

Anyway, since we’ve all stuffed ourselves with glorious Christmas foods (I hope you’ve all had a great one!) I thought I’d made a simple, light-tasting cookie. I mean, I could’ve just not made anything but I had the baking-itch. I had a dilemma deciding between making my favourite chocolate sugar cookies or trying something new.

I eventually decided on lemon cookies and boy did I have to search around for a recipe! Whenever I try something new I always pick out a few and do some comparisons. I like to think that’s a good thing.

image

Look at how cakey this cookie is 😮

The recipe is from here and Nicole talks about how it was initially meant to be a cake. She then added enough flour to turn it into cookie dough! From the few recipes I was reading, the use of baking powder makes the cookie have a cake-like texture. So depending on how you like your cookies, this may or may not be for you. But! With a crunchy exterior and a light, fluffy interior, how can you resist these?! Dx

Ingredients
1 3/4 cup flour (219g)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup butter, softened (57.6g)
1 large egg
1/2 cup sugar + more for rolling
2 tbsp sourcream/greek yogurt
2 tbsp milk
2 tsp lemon juice
1-2 tsp lemon zest

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 175C.  In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, cream butter and sugar. Then add the egg and beat well. Add the sourcream/yogurt and milk and mix well. Then, add the lemon juice and zest.

2. Add the flour bit by bit and stir until well combined.
*the dough was pretty soft for me to roll so I popped it into the freezer to harden up.

3. Roll dough into 1-inch balls then coat in sugar. Place cookies about 2 inches apart on a baking sheet and bake for 10-11 mins or until the tops have set. Remove from sheet and allow to cool on a wire rack.

*if your dough balls are quite firm after rolling, flatten slightly as they will not spread much and you will have a very domed cookie!

(Makes around 20 6cm wide cookies)

image

Just had to say, these are AMAZING warm. Especially on a stormy day like today!

Leave a Reply

