Gingerbread Cake

image

Can we just take a moment to appreciate how long I have been craving these bad boys for? Since October. Yes, October was light years ago.

*raises fists in the air* finally!

They kinda represent Autumn, Christmas, warmth and family to me. Yeah, I’m probably going insane – cakes and symbolism!

Anyway, with Christmas round the corner I thought I’d better make these before the oven’s sole use becomes the turkey. I think this is the softest, fluffiest cake I’ve ever made. Not to say I make rock-hard cakes but it’s just a very different texture. I guess it may be due to the use of water and all the other liquids.

image

I wish they’d turn out a deeper shade of brown but I didn’t have any dark brown sugar on me. Shame.

Ingredients
115g butter
1 cup water
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup molasses (or 3/4 cup molasses sugar mixed with 1/4 cup boiling water)
2/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
2 large eggs, room temp and lightly beaten
1 tbsp freshly grated ginger (optional)
2 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder

Directions
1. Bring water to a boil in a saucepan. Add the baking soda and let it foam and stand for 5 mins. Add the butter and mix until melted. Add the sugars and fresh ginger if using, whisk until well combined. Allow to cool until lukewarm.

2. Preheat oven to 175C and butter and flour 2 8″ tins or 1 9″x13″ tin. (I halved recipe and used a tin that was sort of inbetween those 2 sizes)

3. Pour the mixture into a large mixing bowl and whisk in the eggs. Sift all the dry ingredients and stir until combined.
Note: mixing dry to wet may be easier to avoid lumps which I may try next time.

4. Bake 30-35 mins or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean with a few moist crumbs. Allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

image

The batter was pretty wet and it just formed a thin layer in my tin. I was worried I’d get a cake with a thickness of a swiss roll but they had risen nicely.

image

Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

