Raspberry Buckle

IMG_5625

I really wanted to bake this weekend. So I went on a mad thinking quest on what to make. I first wanted to make an oatmeal cake but after hearing my mum question the possibilities of success I decided to try making a Blueberry Buckle! Then another think quest began on finding the best and most convenient recipe eg: not using 4-6 eggs or 1 egg and 1 egg yolk, that kinda thing. I decided to try the King Arthur Flour recipe!

I felt so stupid when I went shopping for ingredients. Blueberries aren’t in season now so they looked ugly and were expensive. It never occured to me that I could have gone for the frozen ones which would’ve cost me less money than buying raspberries! So much for wanting to make a blueberry buckle!

Anyway, it turned out great. I was fretting a lot about it being too wet (are raspberries more juicy than blueberries?) and coming out underbaked since I was using an 8″ tin instead of a 9″. But yippeeyayo, it turned out PERFECT.

IMG_5626

Look. At. That. Streusel.

I read a tip of getting it real crumbly and chunky which was to clump the mixture together then break it apart slightly before sprinkling on top. Or you could add a sprinkling of cold water and fork through the mixture to get it clumpy. I really don’t like the sandy variation :/

Ingredients
For the Streusel:
1/2 cup flour
1 tsp cinnamon (or 1/2tsp if you don’t want it too cinnamon-ey)
1/4 cup (~56.7g or 1/2 stick) salted butter *you can use unsalted butter but add a pinch of salt
1/3 cup brown sugar
For an extra crunch add 2 tbsp granulated sugar

For the cake:
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter
1 large egg at room temp.
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/2 cup milk
2 cups fresh/frozen blueberries or raspberries

Directions
1. Make the streusel! Mix flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon well. Add the butter and rub in until it resembles wet sand. Set aside in the fridge.
2. Grease an line the base of a 9″ cake tin (you can use an 8″ like me). Preheat oven to 190C
3. Whisk flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add the egg, vanilla and zest. Mix well.
4. Add milk and flour mixture alternately, ending with the flour. As the milk is cold, the batter may look curdled but it’s okay! Do not panic! Batter will be quite thick.
5. Fold in the berries, literally 3-4 times. Be gentle! Spread evenly in the pan and sprinkle the streusel topping making sure its well covered. Bake 40-45 mins for a 9″ tin. As I used an 8″ tin (and was paranoid about underbaking) I added an extra 10 mins and also reduced the temp to 160C in the last 5 mins as it was pretty brown by then. I will experiment with the amount of extra baking time when I make this again!

Allow cake to cool in the tin for 15 mins before removing and allow to cool completely on a wire rack. Alternatively you could allow it to cool for a bit more and serve warm (with custard!). Cake will keep in an airtight container at for 2 days.

This cake is so good. Proof? My mum and I ate a third of it in one night.

IMG_5627

I didn’t want to show the ugly baking parchment but… that cake…. nom.

Leave a Reply

