Best Granola Ever!

IMG_5622

This literally is the best one I’ve made so far.

I think it’s the addition of dessicated coconut. It makes it so fragrant and nutty. The house smelled amazing when it was baking in the oven!

I used some ingredients that I usually would not for a change and also because they were cheaper (I have been feeling guilty about my expenses for all my baking oops). These included chopped hazelnuts and flaked almonds. I actually liked the flaked almonds better than whole almonds as its easier on the jaw in the morning 😉 not so much energy required for all that chewing!

I played around with quantities, granola is pretty much up to you – what YOU want in your mix.

Here’s my recipe for it!

Ingredients2 cups whole rolled oats
1 1/2 cups nuts – 1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts, 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds, 1/2 cup flaked almonds
1/2 cup dessicated coconut
1/4 cup flaxmeal
1 cup dried fruit
(plus a handful of whole almonds because I had them)

4/5 tbsp oil
1/4 cup + 1/2tbsp honey -> adjust according to your taste
sprinkling of brown sugar, about 1 tsp

Directions
1. Preheat oven 160C
2. Mix everything well, making sure they’re well coated with the honey and oil.
3. Bake for 45 mins, stirring ever 15 mins. Reduce to 150C if browning too quickly. You have to keep an eye on them!
4. Remove from oven when done and mix in the dried fruit. Allow to cool completely in the baking tray/sheet before transferring to an airtight container.

IMG_5624

So much goodness in a (tiny) handful!

WARNING: They’re so addictive. I actually just sat down with the box and stuffed my face for a good 15 minutes. Eek!

Leave a Reply

