Raspberry Frangipane Cake – an almond sponge cake.

IMG_5574

Isn’t she just beautiful.

My mad cravings for cake after watching the Great British Bakeoff resulted in me baking today. I just needed cake in my system. Lots of it. I don’t care if it’s unhealthy. Cake makes the world go round.

I think I’ve eaten at least a quarter of it within 2 hours of it coming out of the oven. Oops.

I must say frangipane is one of my favourite baked treats (I know I say that everything is one of my favourites). Almond sponges are just so lovely, as are sponges made with polenta. I got this recipe from this really cute food blogger and the design of it is just right up my street. She’s got quite a few interesting recipes I’d love to try some day!

 

Ingredients
140g unsalted butter, softened
140g caster sugar/soft brown sugar
3 large eggs (I just used medium eggs)
180g ground almonds
60g self raising flour or 60g plain flour + 3/4tsp baking powder
Zest of 1 small lemon
Pinch of salt
Handful of almond flakes

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 160C. Lightly grease the sides of the tin and line the base with baking parchment.
2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well in between each addition. Add the ground almonds and lemon zest, gently mixing until well combined.
3. Sift in the flour and fold until just combined. Spoon into the prepared tin and spread evenly. Arrange the raspberries on top and press them into the batter. Sprinkle a handful of almond flakes ontop. 
4. Place in the centre of the oven and bake for 40-50 mins or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. The cake should spring back when touched. You may need to cover it with aluminium foil if it gets too brown. 
5. Allow to cool for 1 minutes before removing from the tin. Place on a wire rack and allow to cool completely. 

The edges of my cake are a little too brown. But I guess, I can enjoy some crispy ‘crust’ to my cake 😛

Definitely will make this again, probably with different fruit like pears or plums. Exciting times!

IMG_5576

I was wondering how the almond flakes would stay on the cake just by sprinkling them on top. It never occured to me that the batter would rise. Silly me!

Leave a Reply

