Lemon Polenta Cake

I realised I start all my posts with “this is so good” so I’m going to skip that today. And you know it, this cake IS good. I’ll let the recipe and the photos speak for themselves.

I think I’ve developed a keen taste for citrusy cakes and desserts and have grown up from being a kid who loves anything chocolatey. Shocking, but I no longer enjoy eating real rich chocolate desserts. It’s just… too much! I find that citrus desserts make me feel cleansed at the end of a meal. A much nicer feeling than being sick with chocolate.

IMG_5557

You’re probably thinking “hm. Looks like nothing much, really.”

Yeah I guess it’s not aesthetically showstopping but wait till you taste it. 😉

Ingredients
200g unsalted butter, softened
200g ground almonds
100g polenta
200g caster sugar (I used soft brown sugar)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3 large eggs (I used regular)
zest of 2 lemons

For the syrup:
Juice of the 2 lemons
60g sugar (or more if you prefer a sweeter cake)

1. Line the base of a 9-inch springform cake tin or a medium rectangular cake tin like I did and butter the sides.
2. Preheat the oven to 180C.
3. Cream butter and sugar in a large bowl until fluffy. In another bowl, mix all the dry ingredients together.
4. Add some of the dry ingredients to the creamed butter, followed by 1 egg. Continue to add both the dry ingredients and eggs, alternately, while mixing all the time. Finally, mix in the lemon zest.
5. Scoop/pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for ~40 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.You will know when the cake is done if it has shrunk away from the sides of the tin.

*For mine, it was about done at 30 minutes but I left it in for the full 40 minutes, turning down the temp to 160C after 30 minutes to prevent burning at the edges.

6. Allow to cool on a rack. Now, make the syrup by heating the lemon juice and sugar in a small saucepan. Once, the sugar is dissolved it is ready.
7. Prick the cake all over with the cake tester. Slowly pour the syrup over the cake.

*I only used half the syrup and kept the rest for serving afterwards

IMG_5558

Allow the cake to be completely cooled before removing from the tin.

Yay cake for dessert! Serve it warm with a scoop of vanilla icecream and it will be lush.
IMG_5560

Due to the raw polenta, the cake will be gritty. I believe you can pre-cook the polenta so that the cake will not be so gritty.
This cake totally made my day. It was so spontaneous and free from stress. I am well pleased with the result.Happy Days! xxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

