Macaroons not Macarons.

IMG_5498

Coconut.

I’m talking about coconut macaroons and not those colourful pretty macarons.

My first time making them and eating them. So good. Yum.

I had a little problem as it’s not possible to find shredded coconut here in the UK. Well you can, but you would need to order it online. I had to settle for desiccated coconut and was quite worried it would just be dried balls of coconut bits. Then I had an idea to rehydrate them!

 

IMG_5499

Next step: Beat up egg whites with sugar, vanilla and some salt.

Some recipes only ask that you beat until combined but I wanted to give myself an arm workout so I beat them until they got really foamy. I don’t know why but I get such a nice feeling of satisfaction seeing my egg whites turn foamy…

Anyway it doesn’t matter if you beat them until they hold stiff peaks or not because you’re not using them as a rising agent. Unless you want your macaroons to be meringue-ish, then beat the egg whites as though making meringues and then fold in the coconut GENTLY.

IMG_5500

Tadah!

Easy as pie.

Okay not really. I had some difficulty shaping them. You can see some nice rounded ones and some spiky ones. I wanted them to be somewhat neat but the spiky ones actually look nicer and more appetizing!

Here’s what you need:

4 large egg whites
3 cups coconut
1/2 cup sugar (or more if you like)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt

1. Preheat oven to 170C. Optional: toast the coconut until lightly browned for a strong coconut flavour
2. Beat the eggs whites, sugar, vanilla and salt until foamy.
3. Stir in the coconut until moistened.
4. Wet hands and shape into 1.5 inch balls.
5. Place ~1 inch apart on a baking sheet and bake 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

IMG_5501

One thought on “Macaroons not Macarons.

  1. I give my family dirty looks every time they call a macaron a macaroon lol Beat your eggs enough and you could probably make coconut macarons 😉 Love the color on these, can smell the coconut from here

Leave a Reply

