Meyer Lemon Curd

IMG_5390

When I saw these in the supermarket, I literally ran to them, grabbed a pack and threw it in my shopping basket.

I could never get them back home so I couldn’t take any chances. Had to get them there and then. No questions asked, no hesitation at all. What was I going to use them for? No idea.
After my little lemon hyped moment, I realised I couldn’t do much with them. I can’t bake much now since I have no equipment. With an expiration date on Boxing Day, I was running out of time.

Then the beautiful memory of lemon curd came to mind.

Meyer lemon curd. zfnoanfueiwnfiunsinuibwwufom.

Easy and simple.

Lemon Curd (no straining)

1/2 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup sugar
4 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
2 large eggs (or 2 medium eggs)
Lemon zest *optional

1. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well. Lastly, add the lemon juice. Mixture will look curdled.
2. Pour everything into a medium saucepan over med-high heat. When the mixture becomes clear, turn down to low heat and KEEP STIRRING. Take note to scrape all the sides of the pan! It will take about 5 mins for the mixture to thicken to a coating consistency. Test by running your finger along the back of a wooden spoon. The mixture should stay.
3. Remove pan from the heat and stir in lemon zest. Pour into a bowl/jar and allow to cool slightly before chilling in the fridge.

Makes 1.5 cups, ~ 1 jam jar.

*Make sure the mixture doesn’t boil or you’ll get bits of scrambled egg inside your curd 😡

IMG_5391

Leave a Reply

