P is for Pumpkin

I suddenly had a huuuuge craving for pumpkin and could only think of the various ways to use the wonderful bright orange squash. Pies, roasts, stir frys, muffins… the list goes on.

I even wanted to take the opportunity of Halloween and get a whole pumpkin from the supermarket. But I ended up with a humble can of pumpkin puree. That was a simpler and more realistic option.

I went to bed filled with excitement for the morrow’s breakfast – pumpkin oatmeal. Opened the can of pumpkin puree, looked at the warm orange colour, whoopee! Tasted it and was disappointed. I wasn’t expecting it to taste like that. I went ahead and made my oatmeal. It wasn’t too bad. Topped it off with some maple syrup and a crushed ginger snap cookie.

So immediately I went on the internet to figure out what to do with the remaining pumpkin puree. I definitely wasn’t going to eat it raw like that! And I got the answer to my problem rather quick:

 

Pumpkin butter!

I was so happy after that because it tasted so much better. I can happily picture myself eating it with anything and everything.

1 14 oz can of pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/3 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup water
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 tsp all spice
1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp lemon juice

In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients except the lemon juice and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to med-low and simmer for 35-45 minutes. Cover with the lid ajar.The pumpkin puree will be thick and creamy.

Remove from heat and let it stand for a few minutes with the lid on. Remove the lid and stir in the lemon juice and adjust spices to taste if needed. Let the pumpkin butter cool completely before storing in an airtight container in the fridge for a max of 3 weeks.

You can add in ground cloves and ginger if you want. I didn’t have any so I just used all spice.

This is my first time making pumpkin butter and I’m quite happy with the result although I could have cooked it longer. Be careful when it boils as the bubbles pop and splatter!

Next time I’ll try making butternut butter!

Leave a Reply

