My Favourite Breakfast Food

Image

Oatmeal. Yes.

Gone are the days when the sight of oatmeal made me cringe. I remember how I’d watch in amazement at how my mum would eat it with an egg. I tried a few times to appreciate the goodness of oatmeal but could never get pass the first few spoonfuls.

Then one day I don’t know how but I just suddenly liked oatmeal. I googled and saw how versatile it was – Apple Pie Oatmeal, Chocolate Oatmeal, PB&J Oatmeal. Whoa! I was excited to start my oatmeal adventure!

I’ve been eating rolled oats almost every morning. I used to have Quaker’s Instant Oatmeal but I didn’t like how there was no chewiness of the whole oat and it was so smooth.

I started off with just oatmeal and jam. Now I’ve progressed to oatmeal + nuts/seeds + maple syrup/brown sugar + peanut butter! It’s amazing when the peanut butter has melted all over the oatmeal. I mean, that’s if you like peanut butter.

There are many ways to make and top your oatmeal. It’s kind of fun since it allows you to explore your kitchen/pantry and be creative. Anything can go, and the best part is oatmeal is so quick and easy to make. Healthy as well *thumbs up*

Basic Oatmeal
1/4 cup rolled oats

3/4 cup milk/water or both
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 mashed banana

This is basically what you need. I usually skip the mashed banana and many people add flax meal and chia seeds for added nutrition. It’s all up to you!

Leave a Reply

